Broiled grapefruit

Broiled grapefruit

Grapefruit were on sale, and I picked up a few but just couldn’t bring myself to eat them.  Who wants cold grapefruit on a cold morning?  Not me, apparently…  Anyway, according to some sources, February is national grapefruit month, and, as I needed to plan a menu for an event, I decided that maybe grapefruit were the way to go.  (One expects that this observance was invented by the citrus growers as a marketing ploy, but why not celebrate it, right?)  😉

The meal was a success, and I found a few keepers among the recipes:

I also came across a recipe for broiled grapefruit, and I decided that this might well be the solution to my cold morning/cold grapefruit problem.  And indeed it was.  I’ve cooked up all my grapefruit, and now may need to buy some more.  🙂

This can’t really be called  a recipe.  It’s more like a method:

  1. Turn on the oven to broil.  (I’m using the lowest broil setting on my oven, about 450°.  And I learned the hard way that if you accidentally set the oven to bake at the same temperature instead of to broil, the results will be distinctly unpalatable, so beware!)  😉
  2. Slice a grapefruit in half; sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.  (I used just under 1 Tablespoon for the whole grapefruit and have been using up the leftover sugar mixture from this recipe.)
  3. Place on a baking sheet, and broil for 10-15 minutes.  I’ve been putting mine in while I shower, and the timing works out beautifully.
  4. Remove from the oven; let cool for a few minutes, and enjoy!

Do you have any favorite ways to eat grapefruit?

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

