The flu box

Basket with soup, tea, and cough drops

It seems like the wrong time of year, but I keep hearing stories about how the flu season is still going strong, and maybe even picking up in some places.  So, now is as good a time as ever to share my newly re-stocked “flu box.”  (It’s actually a basket now because the box got called to duty elsewhere, but I like the original name.)  😉

Anyway, even with a flu shot, hand washing, getting plenty of sleep, etc., etc., there’s a chance that the flu or some other unpleasant virus will try making itself at home.  After coming down with the terrible cough or the aches and pains and sever sinus congestion, is not the time to run out and pick up whatever you need to keep you hydrated and soothe that sore throat.  Hopefully there’s someone nearby who can run to pick things up for you, but even so, it’s nice to have some essentials on hand.

My essentials include some instant noodle soup, cough drops, and some sort of herbal tea.  I always have tissues and basic medicines on hand, so they don’t need to be part of my kit.  If I can pick up some canned soup on sale, I’ll stick that in the “box” too, just for some variety.  My little box has come in handy in the past, and now it’s all re-stocked in case I need it again soon although I’ll hope not to…

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Amy Young says:

    I live with two people who have the flu and their coughing is bad 😦 … thanks for the tips 🙂

    1. dwellrichly says:

      So sorry! If only the tips could help cure the flu…

Leave a Reply

