Chocolate syrup

banana and peanuts in chocolate syrup

I ran out of chocolate syrup awhile back and kept put off buying it…  I just didn’t want another plastic bottle and corn syrupy sweetness.  But, it took me a long time to find the time to do anything about it.

Finally, I found this recipe, and got myself together enough to whip up a batch of it.  And I’m very glad I did!

It’s delicious — less sweet and more chocolatey than the Hershey’s Special Dark® chocolate syrup that I had before.  I can let you know that it’s great in chocolate milk, on ice cream and in the ever-delicious bananas and peanuts with chocolate syrup (see photo above).  I’ve done such a good job trying it out, that it’s almost time to make another batch!  😉

I can’t say I’ve really modified this recipe at all.  I did put it in the empty plastic squeeze bottle that I had saved, and it works beautifully as a dispenser for this homemade chocolate syrup.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup cold water
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla

Directions:

  1. In a small sauce pan, mix the sugar and cocoa powder together.
  2. Slowly stir in the water and salt and mix well.
  3. Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring constantly.
  4. Continue boiling, and stirring, (3-4 minutes) until it begins to thicken.  (It won’t get very thick while it’s hot, but it will thicken up more after it cools.)
  5. Remove from the heat, let cool slightly, and stir in the vanilla.
  6. Store in the refrigerator in an airtight container.
Leave a Reply

