Mom’s birthday scones

Heart-shaped scones

So, the curries will have to wait for awhile.  My mom’s birthday was last week, and I whipped up some surprise scones for her ahead of time.  I started with my basic Breakfast Scones recipe and added some almond extract, orange peel, and dried cranberries.  And since I love my mom and it’s right around Valentine’s Day, I patted them out and cut them out with a heart-shaped cookie cutter instead of the usual wedges.   They didn’t look amazing, but they tasted delicious.  🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup milk + 1 Tablespoon white vinegar (in place of buttermilk/yogurt)
  • 2 teaspoons dried orange peel
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup dried cranberries
  • 3/4 cup cold butter (or vegetable oil)
  • 2 teaspoons almond extract

Directions:

  1. Combine the milk, vinegar, and orange peel and set aside.
  2. Combine flours, brown sugar, baking powder, and baking soda.
  3. Cut in butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  (A pastry cutter is really a great tool for this!)
  4. Add the cranberries and mix until evenly distributed.
  5. Stir in milk until a soft dough forms.  (Now, I don’t know if my measurements were off since I was using pint jars because my measuring cup was dirty or what, but my dough was a mite too soft, and I ended up stirring in an extra 1/4-1/2 cup flour at this point.)
  6. Knead gently 10-12 times or until the dough is no longer sticky.
  7. Divide the dough in half; place on ungreased baking sheets, and gently pat or roll each half into an 8 inch circle about 1/2 an inch thick.
  8. Cut each circle into 8 wedges.  Separate the wedges slightly.  OR, cut into hearts using a cookie cutter.
  9. Bake at 400° F for 15-18 minutes until lightly browned.
  10. Enjoy!
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

