Lessons in contentment

There’s nothing like the unexpected to remind us that we’re not actually quite as in control of things as we might like to think…

But we can choose to study this lesson that will teach us to say, “I’ve learned the secret of being content in any and every situation…

And find the lovely gift that follows those sometimes hard words, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

Today’s snapshot of contentment in everyday life is a {pretty} little glass dish from a thrift store that’s sitting on my kitchen table.  It holds the last of the fresh peppers and tomatoes from last year’s garden.

It makes me {happy} when I can toss a few little ripe tomatoes in a salad or spice up a pot of soup with one of the peppers.

The tomatoes are so tiny and the peppers are so shriveled it’s probably kind of {funny} to hang onto them, but I like to see them sitting there.

And the {real} truth is that it’s still January and will be a long time yet before the next peppers and tomatoes are ripe in the garden.

But in the background, this is playing, and that brings everything back into perspective.

round button chicken

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lindsey says:

    That song really does bring things into perspective! I’ve been having to learn some contentment this past week too. It’s only through Him that we can delight in shriveled peppers and tiny tomatoes as gifts 🙂 And spring will come eventually…

    1. dwellrichly says:

      Glad it helped! It just helps me remember what’s really important…

Leave a comment