Cool and Delicious: Easy Energy Bars

This recipe originally started out as Z3 High Octane Bars from a Hy-Vee magazine.  I changed up the ingredients to use what I had on hand, and enjoyed the result.

They’re easy to take to work or school and don’t require any baking like these homemade granola bars do (although I think they’re great, too!).

If you need a hearty snack for between meals, these might be just the thing.  The ingredients are all pretty good for you, but they’re definitely not low-calorie!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups quick oats
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup honey
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (dark chocolate chips)
  • 1 cup dried apricots, chopped
  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup soy flour
  • 1 T vanilla

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients together.
  2. Spread into an 8×8 pan and press down.
  3. Refrigerate until firm.
  4. Cut into 2″x2″ squares.
  5. Store the squares in the refrigerator until eating.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Lisa G. says:

    You must have read my mind – I’ve been spending big bucks for Kashi granola bars – they’re good, though – and was wondering if I could make my own!! Thank you.

Leave a comment