What We’re Reading

Books on a bookshelf

Currently Reading…

National Geographic Magazine

This is my breakfast table reading.  The issues pile up, and then I read whichever I happen to grab first.  I’m currently nearing the end of the February 2011 issue (not too far behind the times!) and am reading about the tunnels below Paris.  The article hasn’t mentioned the Paris sewers expose in Les Miserables yet, but that’s what first came to mind when I saw the article.  Always something interesting in the National Geographic, if you can stand photos of bones at the breakfast table…

Miss Hargreaves by Frank Baker

This was last month’s selection for my book club.  I got off to a good start, but haven’t been able to pick it up since.  I think I’ll enjoy it when I do, but I know that there’s some unpleasantness (of a very tame sort) coming up in the story, and I have a hard time steeling myself to get past that.

The Cross of Christ by John Stott

This would have been good to start on before Easter, but I’m sure that I can get a lot out of it afterward, as well.  It was first published about 25 years ago, so it’s nothing new, but it’s solid and should take me quite some time to work through…

Still working on…

The Good and Beautiful Life

by James Bryan Smith

Harry Potter y la piedra filosofal

by J. K. Rowling

I’m close to the end and it’s very exciting!  😉

Just finished…

Same Kind of Different as Me

by Ron Hall and Denver Moore

This was good travel reading although parts of it are heart-wrenching.  Its pictures of a life that’s quite different from my experiences were good.  I can see some folks describing it as kitschy, but I think it’s a good read.

What are you reading these days?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Dorinda says:

    I stumbled across _Miniskirts, Mothers, & Muslims_ on my co-worker’s bookshelf two weeks ago. It has been a fascinating and eye-opening read with lots of thought-provoking ideas. I haven’t finished it yet, but will soon.

    (http://www.urbana.org/books/miniskirts-mothers-muslims-a-christian-woman-in-a-muslim-land)

    It got interrupted when someone gave me a free copy of L.M.Montgomery’s book _The Story Girl_. 🙂 A delicious and distracting re-read for a crazy week.

Leave a Reply

