Thoughts on a Friday

A clump of palm trees on a rocky point at the edge of the ocean

from The Eternal Goodness

by John Greenleaf Whittier

~~~

…Who fathoms the Eternal Thought?

Who talks of scheme and plan?

The Lord is God!  He needeth not

The poor device of man….

~~~

I see the wrong that round me lies,

I feel the guilt within;

I hear, with groan and travail-cries,

The world confess its sin.

~~~

Yet in the maddening craze of things,

And tossed by storm and flood,

To one fixed trust my spirit clings;

I know that God is good!…

~~~

I know not what the future hath

Of marvel or surprise,

Assured alone that life and death

His mercy underlies.

~~~

And if my heart and flesh are weak

To bear an untried pain,

The bruised reed he will not break,

But strengthen and sustain.

~~~

And so beside the Silent Sea

I wait the muffled oar;

No harm from Him can come to me

On ocean or on shore.

~~~

I know not where His islands lift

Their fronded palms in air;

I only know I cannot drift

Beyond his love and care….

 

Shadows of palm fronds on the beach at the edge of the ocean

Leave a Reply

